Melvin Bradley of Mhist present Dr Jill Marsden, School of Arts with her Jenkinson Award

At a ceremony attended by governors, the Students’ Union President, external guests, senior university staff, past winners, research students as well as the winners and their guests, the third annual Jenkinson Awards took place on 14 December 2017 in the University.

The guests of honour were Sal and Mark Jenkinson members of the Jack Jenkinson’s family, who was the first Principal of Bolton Institute of Technology.

Professor Patrick McGhee, Chair of the Jenkinson 2018 Panel and compere for the evening said “The quality of submissions was particularly high this year and the winners reflect the very best of university research in terms of our teaching intensive, research informed agenda.”

Over the last three years the panel have received 121 applications, funded 46 projects and awarded £225k in funding.

The certificates were presented to winners by Melvin Bradley, CEO of Mhist, a leading mental health charity working with individuals, business, schools and public sector organisations to improve well-being.

The inaugural Students’ Union President’s Prize for the project which best engaged students in research was chosen by Stacey Johnson and the Chair, and awarded to Dr Julie Prescott and Chathurika Kannangara for their proposal ‘Project Phoenix – PsychoEducation in a School Context’ and presented by Dr Steve McBride, of KCMC, the Knowledge Centre for Materials Chemistry, a leading research consortium of which the University is a member.

In his speech, Professor McGhee highlighted the achievements and significance of research in the arts and humanities, nationally and institutionally. “Arts and humanities research is important for one of the same reasons that science research is important: for its own sake.  Society should value knowledge and critique for its intrinsic value, and of course universities have a very special role in that process – and that is one of the many reasons universities are such special places.”

In closing the ceremony Professor McGhee announced that the deadline for next year’s awards Jenkinson 2019 would be 5pm Monday 15 October 2018.

The Winners of the Jenkinson 2018 Awards

Dr Mohammad Sanami, Prof Peter Myler & Karl Gregory Developing techniques for manufacturing Orthopaedic Implants
Dr Kim Edwards-Keates Celebrating Bolton’s Victorian Literary Legacy
Dr Jill Marsden The Transvaluation of the Literary
Craig Hobbs, Dr Gill Allen & Nick Wadsworth ‘PARTICIPATE’ — PHYSICAL Activity RaTes In EthniC MInorities: Preliminary Study of A Town Evaluation
Dr Julie Prescott & Chathurika Kannangara Project Phoenix – PsychoEducation in a School Context
Dr Navneet Soin, Prof. J. Luo & Dr Chan See Development of wearable triboelectric energy harvesting devices
Dr Bob Snape The Centre for Worktown Studies
Leanne Lewis & Faye Power ‘Anarchy and the Aesthetic’ Exhibition, May 2018: A contemporary exploration of the relationship between punk and the arts.

The Panel for the 2018 Jenkinson Awards were:

  • Dr Gill Green (REF2021 Impact Lead)
  • Stacey Johnson (Students’ Union President)
  • Dr Paul Birkett (SEO)
  • Professor Baljinder Kandola (Chair, Research & Knowledge Exchange Committee)
  • Dr Andy Graham (Executive Dean, Research & Graduate School)
  • Dr Kondal Kandadi (Pro Vice Chancellor)
  • Donna Zarei (Secretary)
  • Professor Patrick McGhee (Chair)

Leave a Comment






Submit a story

Got a news story or an upcoming event you would like including in the weekly bulletin?
Log in with your university account to tell us more ...

Log In