The Jenkinson Prizes are designed to recognise and celebrate exceptional achievement in four areas of research in the context of TIRI – publication, teamwork, early career development and research support.

The awards support the winners in new specific projects rather than past and ongoing achievement.

Jenkinson Award Winners School Topic
Professor Bob Snape Arts Centre for Worktown Studies
Dr Ian Glover Arts Reframing Views of Worktown
Dr Colin Robertson Sport & Biological Sciences Epidemiology of Injury Incidence in the European Super League
Professor Dick Horrocks Engineering Increasing impact of the live North West textile industrial history resource linked to Worktown
Professor Paul Hollins Institute of Management Realising an Applied Gaming Ecosystem (RAGE)
Dr Chathurika Kannangara Education & Psychology Bringing Positive Psychology into the classrooms
Dr Julie Prescott Education & Psychology Technology & Mental Health
Professor Jerome Carson Education & Psychology Happiness: Bringing Worktown into the present day.
Dr Wendy Bateman Law Changing procedures with regard to intimate violence
Dr Evan Jones Arts Whitman 200: Community and Diversity
Ryley Awards School Topic
Dr Sarah Telfer Education & Psychology Raising Diversity and Achievement in Higher Education
Dr John McGarry Law Modern conceptions of parliamentary sovereignty
Dr Jerome Carson Education & Psychology Publishing final year Psychology projects.
Ian Bowden Law Legal Advice Centre
Narun Nahar Institute of Management Staff-student partnership (SSP) – digital intelligence
Dr Kim Edwards-Keates Arts Whitman and Women
Ainsworth Awards PhD Area Student Scholarship Awardee
School of Education and Psychology Mental Health Jeanette McGuffie
Institute of management Accounting Boluwatife Oyesola


Nominations are now open for 2020 with the following categories:

Publication of the Year – Academically excellent output which has been put into the public domain for publication between 1 Jan 2019 and 31 December 2019
Research Team of the Year – Academic research excellence by a team
Early Career Researcher of the Year – Academic research excellence by an ECR
Research Support Professional of the Year – Individual or team supporting academic excellence in outputs

Professor Patrick McGhee who chairs the panel stated, “The Jenkinson Prizes are very popular and reflect the University’s commitment to recognising excellence in research in the context of TIRI. The focus on research as collaborative is a key theme this year, highlighted by the new category of Research Support Professional of the Year. This category is for an individual or team providing high-quality support for research activity.”

The recognition itself comprises funding support for relevant staff development. Nominations can be made for oneself or on behalf of others. The deadline for nominations is 17:00 on 29 November 2019. All applications must be through the online portal

The shortlists will be announced in early December with the winners in each category announced at the Jenkinson Celebration Evening on 12 December 2019. Please email ku.ca1579827410.notl1579827410ob@re1579827410tsof.1579827410a.p1579827410 to book a place. The Jenkinson Prizes scheme will be one of the areas covered at an institutional briefing event on Wednesday 20 November 2019 at 12:00-13:00 in the Neville-Rolfe Boardroom which will also address the TIRI Professorship Scheme 2020 and Research Professorship & Reader Scheme 2019-20.

Leave a Comment






Submit a story

Got a news story or an upcoming event you would like including in the weekly bulletin?
Log in with your university account to tell us more ...

Log In